Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013
These websites provide primary resources from the American Civil War such as photographs, letters, diaries, documents, songs and poems.
- Civil War in Harper's Weekly
Harper's Weekly was the most popular newspaper during the Civil War, and it featured stunning illustrations, and in depth stories on all the important people and events of the war
- Civil War Treasures (New York Historical Society)
The images in this digital collection include recruiting posters for New York City regiments of volunteers; stereographic views documenting the mustering of soldiers and of popular support for the Union in New York City; photography showing the war's impact, both in the north and south; and drawings and writings by ordinary soldiers on both sides.
- Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet. This website has diaries, letters, documents, photographs and prints of women effected or involved in the Civil War.
- Selected Library of Congress Civil War Photographs
Extensive collection of Civil War photographs (click on photo for enlargement). Complete bibliographic information available for most.
- eHistory Archive (Ohio State University)
Collection of letters, journals, and diaries of soldiers who fought in Washington, D. C., Tennessee, Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Mississippi.
- Civil War Trust - Primary Resources
Primary Documents by Topic: Most Popular, Official Records, Addresses & Speeches, Acts, Bills, & Orders, Military Correspondence & Documents, Personal Correspondence & Narratives, Prints & Photos, Maps, Document Collections.
- Civil War Songs and Poetry
Music, Union poetry, and Confederate poetry of the civil war.
- Civil War Love Letters
The Universities of Virginia Tech Special Collections Department contains letters written by soldiers to their loves and a few from the ladies to their soldiers.
These sites may be indirectly helpful for this project.
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
National Parks Service for Civil War Institute. Research social, economic, political, and military aspects of the American Civil War. Detailed history of African Americans in the Civil War. Battle histories for 364 of the most significant battles. Search feature for names of soldiers and sailors that fought in the war.
- PBS Guide to the American Civil War
Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) website providing a comprehensive collection of links to information on the Civil War. This site complements the Ken Burns series on the Civil War shown on PBS television stations
- United States Map Showing Confederate and Union States
- Visual Civil War Timeline (Washington Post)
Interactive web page featuring four part visual timeline of the civil war. Image origins of people, events, maps and political cartoons generally listed under the source.
Remember : the websites you use need to have authors and/ or you need to prove the source is authoritative.
- World Book Online
World Book provides extensive Primary Source documents and images to choose from under "Civil War" search.
- Student Resources in Context
Use the same password as NovelNY to log in. Scroll to find Student Resources in Context. Click on Primary Resources at the top of the search bar and search Civil War.