This is the "Home" page of the "Atomic Bomb Debate- Social Studies 10" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Atomic Bomb Debate- Social Studies 10  

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2013 URL: http://mercyhs.libguides.com/AtomicBombDebate Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints is a database through NovelNY. This will help you find information on the different sides of the debate question. You can also use Opposing Viewpoints to find primary sources and newspaper and magazine articles.

Please use the password listed for NovelNY to gain access to this database.

Salem Press History

Use this historical database to search for information on the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. You can narrow your search by limiting the results to the 1940's.

Click on "Remote Access" Tab at the top and enter in the password given to you by Mrs. Rouleau.

WORLD BOOK ONLINE

This is another good place to begin your research. Not only does World Book have information about the atomic bomb, but it also gives you web links on your topic to further your research. 

Please see Mrs. Rouleau for the password to access World Book Online.

Google

REMEMBER: USE THE SIX CRITERIA OF A GOOD ACADEMIC SOURCE TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOU CAN TRUST A WEBSITE.



Website Resources

Here are a few websites that will assist you in finding information for your debate.

  • New York Times Upfront
    This link brings you to the Scholastic website with an article from the New York Times Upfront Magazine for Teens. This contains information for both sides of the debate.
  • ABC News
    This is a link to an article titled: "Survivors of Hiroshima and Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Attacks Call for Nuclear-Free World" from the ABC news website. It contains first hand accounts of what happened on the day of and the days following the bombs dropped on Japan.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    This is a link to the Encyclopedia Britannia's article about World War II. If you scroll down, towards the bottom of the page you will find information on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. You can also use the search box and search Hiroshima and/or Nagasaki and find articles with further information.
  • History.com
    Here is the link to History.com; this contains much information on the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. You will find plenty of multimedia artifacts including a speech by President Truman, photos of the aftermath, and video discussions of the bombings.
  • Hiroshima Committee
    This is a link to the Hiroshima Committee's website. This has generous information on the physical attributes of the atomic bomb, the natural aftermath, deaths, and the effects of radiation.
 

Print Resources in Mercy Library

Here are a few books that will aid you in your research of the atomic bomb. There are many more available in the Mercy library in the section 940.53 and 940.54.

Cover Art
The Bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki - Valerie Bodden
Call Number: 940.54 BOD
ISBN: 9781583415450
Publication Date: 2007-07-01

Cover Art
The Atomic Bomb - Kyoko Selden (Editor, Translator); Mark Selden (Editor, Translator); Robert Jay Lifton (Foreword by)
Call Number: 940.54 ATOMIC
ISBN: 0873325567
Publication Date: 1990-01-01

Cover Art
Shadows of Hiroshima - Wilfred G. Burchett
Call Number: 940.54BUR
ISBN: 0860917835
Publication Date: 1983-01-01

Cover Art
Hiroshima - John Farris; Brian McGovern (Illustrator)
Call Number: 940.54 Harris
ISBN: 1560060158
Publication Date: 1990-09-01

Cover Art
Hiroshima - John Hersey
Call Number: 940.54 HERSHEY
ISBN: 0679721037
Publication Date: 1989-03-04

Mercy's Library Catalog

MLA Citation

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip